REALTOR of the Year

REALTOR of the Year

New Hampshire REALTORS will name the 61st recipient of the prestigious Realtor of the Year honor with a livestream announcement on Sept. 23, featuring NHAR President Marc Drapeau, 2018 Realtor of the Year Diana Mancuso, and a surprise in-person presentation to this year’s winner.

Tom Riley (pictured with wife Diane in photo at right), a Bedford resident and President of Riley Enterprises in Bedford, was selected as the New Hampshire Association of REALTORS 2019 REALTOR of the Year, an award given annually for outstanding volunteer service to the real estate community. Riley has been a REALTOR since 1981 and in that time has served in innumerable national and state volunteer roles, including NHAR President in 2011 and NAR Treasurer in 2017 and 2018.

The 2020 local Board REALTORS of the Year, from whom the state winner will be selected, are as follows:

Capital Region Board: Terry Murphy
Commercial Investment Board: Ralph Valentine
Contoocook Valley Board: Denise Whitney
Granite State South Board: Mark Soltys
Greater Claremont Board: Cindy Haynes
Greater Manchester/Nashua Board: Kathy Snyder
Lakes Region Board: Michele Penner
Monadnock Region Board: Carol Slocum
North Country Board: Trisha Cross
Seacoast Board: Lexi Leddy
Strafford County Board: Lee Ann Parks
Sunapee Region Board: Dan O'Halloran
Upper Valley Board: Dick DuMez
White Mountain Board: LeeAnn O'Hara

The recipients are collectively judged by an NHAR working group to select the state Realtor of the Year based on the following criteria:

  • Realtor spirit: high principles of integrity, adherence to the Realtor Code of Ethics, and furtherance of the principles of good real estate practice among brokers, agents and the general public.
  • Civic activity: Local, state and national level participation in civic and service clubs, charitable activities, political commissions, fraternal or religious groups.
  • Business accomplishments: Public recognition of business conduct, service to clients, imaginative and creative advertising programs, rehabilitation work, land utilization, etc.
  • Local board activity: Offices held and committee work, special assignments, seminar activity and educational work, membership and offices held in local chapters of Institutes, Societies and Councils.
  • State association activity: Offices held and committee work, attendance and participation in state conventions, directors meetings and educational conferences.
  • National association activity: National offices and committee work, membership and work in Institutes, Societies and Councils, attendance at national conventions and directors’ meetings.

The state Realtor of the Year is announced at the annual conference each year and is presented with an engraved crystal award. In addition the recipient receives funds to assist with attending the National Association of REALTORS annual conference, where all state Realtors of the Year are recognized. All recipients are listed on a plaque displayed at the state association office.

"Amidst the sea of change to which the New Hampshire Association of REALTORS has played witness in its 85 years, one thing that has remained constant is the Realtor 'R' and the value we bring to every real estate transaction in which we take part. We are part of a unique community where our familial cooperation transcends our business competition. These are not mere platitudes, but our living ideals, and they are, in fact, the foundation on which we conduct ourselves in our day-to-day affairs."

Jim Lee, 2021 President, New Hampshire REALTORS